Sleeping With My Door Unlocked

My Mom visited me last night in my dream. She was dressed in a beautiful white, pleated dress, which was incredibly soft when I hugged her.  She appeared younger than when she passed two years ago.  She seemed happy and rested.  I was pleased to see her dancing with friends and to be able to tell her how beautiful she looked.

My mom visits me often. I also get visits from my grandparents, my father-in-law and most recently a friend’s mom, who I did not know very well.  I don’t know why I am prone to visits from my loved ones who have passed, but I am deeply grateful.

I know there are some out there that would say my dreams are just a way for my brain to handle the loss. A mere figment, you might say, of my active imagination.  Well, I won’t argue anyone about it.  I can understand skepticism, especially from people who haven’t been honored with such visits.  I am convinced, however, that it is so much more than a coping mechanism in my brain.  The visits are much too real, too poignant and too memorable to be simple dreams.

I recognize that some people never receive visits through dreams. I can only assume that maybe it’s because I sleep with my door unlocked.  Not my front door, of course, that gets bolted tight!  Rather, the door to my mind, my soul, and my heart.  I leave that door open to be able to hear from my loved ones and to hear God’s messages for me.

Perhaps you can try sleeping with your spiritual door unlocked. It may allow the gentle visits from your loved ones who rest in heaven now.  You never know who you might hear from if you are open to their conversations.  Ask God to help you.  He makes amazing things happen!

This entry was posted in Thriving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

